Yesterday I came across this recipe while surfing around the internet on Blair Fowlers Youtube account. She explained how to follow the recipe by just doing it in a video- it especially helped with the “basket-pattern” on top of the pie. Watch the video where I stole the recipe here. 😉

recipe; american apple pie

What you need:

for the “filling”

– 6 apples (in my opinion it doesn´t matter what kind)

– 1 tbsp lemon juice

– 3/4 cup sugar

– 1 tbsp flour (I used spelt-flower since it´s the only kind I use)

– 1/2 tsp cinnamon

– 1/4 tsp nutmeg

– 1/8 tsp salt

– 2 tbsp butter

– sugar and cinnamon for sprinkling the basket-top

for the pie crust (if you´re up to make it your own):

– 300g flour

– 200g butter

– 80g sugar

– 1 tsp baking powder

– 1 egg

– some vanilla

For the crust just put all the ingredients in a bowl, kneed thoroughly and put in the fridge while preparing the filling.

IMG_6123

Directions:

First core, peel and then slice all the apples. I used this awesome tool and it´s just great cause it´s way easier and faster.

PicMonkey CollaThen add the lemon juice  (I used lime but I think it doesn´t matter) mix it quickly and then add the sugar, flour, cinnamon, nutmeg and salt.
IMG_6144

IMG_6145

Now place the apples into a strainer placed over a large bowl and let it sit for about 15 minutes. Pour the drained juice into a microwave safe container and add butter. Microwave the mixture for 5 minutes and it should look like in the picture below.

IMG_6153Now mix the home-made caramel back into the apples and then line a pie pan with the pie crust and fill with the apples. I didn´t have a round pie pan so I used an oval one but you almost can´t notice. 😉 If you made the crust on your own just take it out of the fridge now and knead it through once again part it in two even pieces and then flatten both parts out with a rolling pin.

IMG_6154

Top your pie bottom and the apples with the pie crust. I wanted a “real” American Apple Pie so I made the top of the pie look like a basket.

IMG_6155

IMG_6158

I tried to show you here how to get the basket-pattern done but you can also check Blairs Video out where she shows it really good!

In the end sprinkle some powdered sugar over your pie and then that´s what it is supposed to look like!
IMG_6161

Bake your pie at 180° C for about 30 minutes until the top is golden brown. Et voilá that´s the pie right after I took it out of the oven! Just let it cool for a little and serve it with vanilla bean ice cream- that just tastes delicious!

IMG_6166

Have fun baking and I hope you enjoyed this recipe!

XOX
Marina

